Comics That I’m Diggin’

I kind of realized that this blog has become more about information and less personal, making me feel like maybe people won’t be able to really relate. So I thought I’d share the comics that I’m currently into with everyone, since I like to relate my recipes and workouts to comics and other media forms.

Below are photos of several of the comics my boyfriend and I like to read. In terms of what I’m reading right now, the comics are on hold because I’m reading The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkein, as well as A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

Untitled3Buffy the Vampire Slayer the comic is a continuation of the T.V. show and continues the story post-Sunnydale-apocalypse. A lot of great characters return like Angel, Spike, the annoying but somewhat endearing Harmony, etc. I like this one because, while I loved the T.V. show – far more than the movie – this comic is able to go beyond what the show was allowed; different dimensions, character story arcs, and super cool visuals that would probably be insanely expensive for a show to accomplish.

Saga is an amazing comic by Brian K. Vaughan (illustrated by Fiona Staples). I’ll be the first to admit that I’m frightened of “outerspace”, not aliens but just the whole endless black space of unknowns. However, this series takes the general Romeo and Juliet theme of two alien races at war and creates worlds, races, and elaborate story arcs for each character. I haven’t gotten past the third trade, but I intend to soon after my baby is born.

Y The Last Man is a comic about the last living male on earth. Now I’ve only read the first trade, because I can’t find any places close that sell other trades, but so far it’s good! Of course I’d love any world ruled by women.

Untitled1Boxers is actually my boyfriend’s! This graphic novel is the first of two, the second being Saints, and it’s about the Boxer Rebellion. The art is simple, but don’t let that fool you. According to the boyf, it’s extremely enjoyable!

Chew is definitely one of my favorite comics. This story follows Tony Chu and the ban of chicken. That’s right the FDA has banned chicken. Not only that, but people have these food related powers, which is really cool! Tony is what’s known as a cibopath (he can know the history of whatever he bites into) and his mission is to find out how people are dying.

UntitledMost everyone knows about The Walking Dead, so I’ll spare you a summary. I will tell you this, it differs substantially from the hit T.V. show.

The Woods is something we just got into about a high school full of students and some teachers who are somehow transported onto a moon. I’ve only read the first issue, but it’s pretty cool (although, I was a little uncomfortable at the more spacey pages).

Hinterkind is an interesting series where most of mankind has died off. Other creatures are coming out of the shadows to reclaim the land that mankind took over. It’s like The Walking Dead meets… mythical creatures?

Black Science and FBP are both boyfriend’s. I literally just asked him how he would describe Black Science and he just shook his head. FBP is very quantum-physics related. The story of which is hard to explain.

I know I’m missing a ton of different series, but everything else is inside of our box o’ comics in the closet, and you know how it is when preparing for a baby to arrive. INSANITY! But there’s a little bit for you to get a taste of what I’m into. Let me know what you’re into in the comments, including any suggestions!

About Raine

I'm a 29-year-old mother of 3, who's pretty dedicated to maintaining a healthy lifestyle and helping others achieve the same through education, rather than fear-mongering.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment